My Aha Moment: The Blogging “Community”

The other day after a long hiatus from a brief intro to this blog, I decided to jump back in and so to speak just do it.  I did it.  I posted.  Done.

And then something happened.  I got “likes” and responses.  I was giddy and couldn’t believe it.  As in, somebody actually read that? And liked it? Wow! I was shocked.

Before I posted, I read some other blogs and actually commented.  I loved what people had to say.  Then people liked what I had to say–ok maybe people won’t always like it.  I read that other people follow people.  And so I started that too.  I get new posts to my email.  Aha! I get it! Now I feel the community. You get to know people, what they’re doing, what they’re going through.  You get to see that it really is a great big world.

When I started this, I was missing (and still am) that camaraderie that comes from neighbors and people hanging out.  I didn’t get the whole blog thing.  I feel like an old dinosaur shaking my finger at the young people: I used to walk up hill both ways to school.  But now I get it: this is the neighborhood; this is the community.  It doesn’t replace face to face and good old-fashioned sitting around the table.  But it does offer a huge outlet and hand-holding, a pat on the back, an I can relate kind of exchange.

It’s taken me a long time, but Aha! I got it.  Now let’s see if I can keep up.

What does blogging or at least reading do for you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

